Hark! A Vagrant (Hark! A Vagrant, #1)

Hark! A Vagrant (Hark! A Vagrant, #1)
author: Kate Beaton
name: Elaine
average rating: 4.26
book published: 2011
rating: 5
read at:
date added: 2019/08/31
shelves:
review:
Have read many of these over the years, but what a delight to have all collected on paper. Borrowed from the library, but I really need my own copy, I think.

Abbott

Abbott
author: Saladin Ahmed
name: Elaine
average rating: 4.03
book published: 2018
rating: 5
read at:
date added: 2019/08/17
shelves: fiction, graphic-novel
review:
Absolutely fantastic. Like a good hard-boiled mystery from the 70s, but with a supernatural twist. Abbott is a wonderful character and I just want more of her, tender and badass. (smart black bisexual reporter? Yes please) The art is also deeply evocative and just crammed with detail. All around delightful.

The Adventure Zone: Murder on the Rockport Limited!

The Adventure Zone: Murder on the Rockport Limited!
author: Clint McElroy
name: Elaine
average rating: 4.81
book published: 2019
rating: 5
read at:
date added: 2019/07/20
shelves: d-and-d, fantasy, fiction, graphic-novel, own
review:
A great adaptation! Really translates the humor of the original while adding hints of the drama to come. Just a fun book that I’ll definitely be reading more than once.

Chronin, Vol. 1: The Knife at Your Back

Chronin, Vol. 1: The Knife at Your Back
author: Alison Wilgus
name: Elaine
average rating: 3.55
book published: 2019
rating: 5
read at:
date added: 2019/07/20
shelves: fiction, graphic-novel, own, sci-fi
review:
Maybe there’s an extra layer that I might’ve gotten if I were knowledgeable about either manga or Japanese history, but a thoroughly enjoyable tale nonetheless. It unfolds in a really satisfying way, gradually revealing the connections between the characters, the way that time travel (yes, I enjoyed a time travel story!) plays out through the plot. Lots of emotional and plot tension, and of course lovely art, with expressive faces and delicate landscapes. Will definitely be getting book 2!

Content Audits and Inventories

Content Audits and Inventories
author: Paula Ladenburg Land
name: Elaine
average rating: 4.00
book published: 2014
rating: 0
read at: 2015/05/01
date added: 2019/01/29
shelves: business, own, non-fiction, technology
review:

e galactic mu

e galactic mu
author: Sunday Williams
name: Elaine
average rating: 4.33
book published: 2012
rating: 0
read at: 2013/09/01
date added: 2019/01/29
shelves: ebook, fiction, sci-fi, didnt-finish
review:

The Personality Brokers: The Strange History of Myers-Briggs and the Birth of Personality Testing

The Personality Brokers: The Strange History of Myers-Briggs and the Birth of Personality Testing
author: Merve Emre
name: Elaine
average rating: 3.41
book published: 2018
rating: 4
read at: 2019/01/12
date added: 2019/01/12
shelves: history, non-fiction, psychology
review:
There was a very good article going around about the history of the MBTI: this is the book-length version, after the author got so intrigued that she had to keep going. And it’s a fascinating story, all tied up in the birth of both modern psychology and the white-collar workplace, a story of two women who married ideas that wouldn’t seem to go together at all, and yet by the time I was a babby professional, were EVERYWHERE.

I really wish she’d had access to the official archives of the organization that owns MBTI, because I think the last third of the book could have been so much richer for it. My other wish is that she’d covered more about where other personality testing went in the 60s and later; it seems like the MBTI is in dialogue with so many other personality testing systems and I would have liked to have known more.

(But honestly, the entirety of this book was made by two extremely weird facts: Briggs having written Reader/Jung fanfic, and type testing having been carried out on an entire high school without the parents’ knowledge or permission.)

The Adventure Zone: Here There Be Gerblins

The Adventure Zone: Here There Be Gerblins
author: Clint McElroy
name: Elaine
average rating: 4.27
book published: 2018
rating: 5
read at:
date added: 2018/11/23
shelves: d-and-d, fantasy, favorites, fiction, graphic-novel, own
review:
Just happened to see this while scrolling through my “to-read” list — and apparently I’m so bad at keeping up my goodreads reviews that I never posted that I did in fact get, read, and love the TAZ graphic novel. (the first TAZ graphic novel, what?!)

It’s a delightful adaptation that keeps the meta-fictional qualities that I love about this show and the personalities of the characters as well, while streamlining what is arguably the roughest and most awkward of the arcs. Carey Pietch’s art is charming and expressive, and her Madame Director is the [static noise] of my heart. The little details from later in the show are a real treat, too. (Miller Enterprises! Brad Bradson! Carey Fangbattle!)

As a mega-fan, it’s strange and somewhat disappointing to run across all the IP-based name changes, but such is life under capitalism.

And honestly, writing this makes me want to read it again (and to finally get around to putting up the B&N special edition poster).